Mark as Unread

28 Feb

hello, new book. join the queue.

One habit of mine: I hoard books. I buy them, but I don’t necessarily read them the moment I get home. Sometimes, they stay untouched for months until I find the time to read.

I’ve come to discover that whenever I find an interesting read (or I find a book that’s been on my wishlist for a while) and I decide to just come back for it later, thinking that it will still be there — well, it’s gone. And it just so happens that it’s the only copy there is.

FML, right?

So now, although I take a long time to decide, I end up buying it for the fear that the unpleasant experience will repeat itself. So why do I take my time thinking it over? That’s because I’m not entirely sure if it’s a need or a want. I have the price tag to consider too, especially for new arrivals (still in their hardbound forms), and those who are not mass market paperback editions. Even the mass market paperbacks cost atleast P350+.

Not that I’m very impulsive. There are instances that when I find a good read, I need to walk around first until I’ve finally decided. My wishlist is never empty, either. I always make sure I have five to ten titles on my list before I raid the bookstore.

But since I always end up panic-buying, debating with myself about the price tag of one book kinda defeats the purpose when I see my total bill. With my last book purchase, I  bought three books (hardbound, paperback, and a mass market paperback) for a dizzying P2,000. Out of pure guilt that I spent that much, I told myself that I’ll make those three books last me for a few months.

And I made good on that promise. In fact, it’s been almost four months and I still haven’t even finished half of one book!

I’m not sure if that’s good or bad.

Oh, and another habit of mine: I read several books at a time. If you’d explore my bookshelf, several books have movie ticket stubs (impromptu bookmarks) inserted between the pages. See the picture above? 90% of those books have them. Clearly, that means I haven’t finished the book before another called for my attention. It’s bad practice, I know. I think I’m slightly ADHD when it comes to books.

Oddly enough, my favorite book spent six months on-and-off the shelf before I really got into it and finished it in one sitting.

Don’t get me wrong though. Back in college I used to devour books in a day or two. Three days, tops. Once, I read a book in under three hours. And in high school, I used to not sleep until I finish the latest Harry Potter book. But with work (wait, what work?), stress and pet parenting activities, I have very little time to read. Most of my free time is composed of catching up on sleep.

As an attempt to remedy the problem and actually get some reading done, I go to my nearest Starbucks branch, armed with an ipod (plus the charger) and the book I want to focus on. Then I get distracted by the bookstore.

It’s a vicious cycle, I tell you.

But in all seriousness, I really want to finish that pile in two weeks if I could. Or half of it.

Here are the titles (from the pic):

  1. Elantris, Brandon Sanderson (currently reading this one)
  2. Whitechapel Gods, SM Peters
  3. Academ’s Fury, Jim Butcher
  4. The Name of the Rose, Umberto Eco
  5. Soulless, Gail Carriger
  6. Empire in Black and Gold, Adrian Tchaikovsky
  7. Perdido Street Station, China Mieville
  8. Fool, Christopher Moore
  9. Johannes Cabal the Necromancer, Jonathan L Howard
  10. My Mother She Killed Me My Father He Ate Me, Kim Bernheimer
  11. Songs of Love and Death: All Original Tales of Star Crossed Love, George RR Martin et al.

Right now I’m on the hunt for the following books:

  1. There Once Lived A Woman Who Tried To Kill Her Neighbor’s Baby: Scary Fairytales, Lundmilla Petrushevskaya
  2. Johannes Cabal the Detective, Jonathan L Howard
  3. Under the Poppy, Kathe Koja
  4. Wise Man’s Fear, Patrick Rothfuss (Release date: March 1, 2011)

And here’s a link to my inventory for the curious folks. I’m just not sure how updated this one is. Oh wait, it says December 2010.

If somebody, ahem, would like to recommend or give me books, I prefer the sci-fi/fantasy genre and the occasional poignant fiction. Try FullyBooked (websitetwitterfacebook) — they’re ever so reliable.

Leave a Reply

