FOTD / OOTD: Contrasts

2 Mar

 

I was supposed to get my clearance done today. Said clearance is to make my resignation official even if I was, technically, still undergoing training. But since there had been hints of rain, it was the ideal weather to sleep in.

Until my phone started buzzing at 8:30ish in the morning.

My friend was asking me if I was just going to stay at home. I told her that I’d think about it. In the end, we agreed that she could tag along as I get my clearance done; all she wanted to do was to get out of the house because she was going stir crazy. She was going to hang out with another friend of ours while I run around, collecting signatures.

But that didn’t work out because our friend was at the hospital, watching over a relative of his. We ended up having a late lunch at Teriyaki Boy, window shopping (I found a dress I’d love to have, courtesy of Mango and two-tone oxfords from Payless, and three eyeshadow palettes from Wet n Wild) and having yogurt at Tutti Fruitty.

Anyway, since I was supposed to show up at the office, I had to look presentable. That’s why I like the smart casual dress code; ever presentable and surprisingly comfortable. Or atleast, I’m comfortable in it. I’d rather wear a button down or a blouse than a round neck tee.

 

Blouse: Mango. Tie: Armando Caruso (in white),  Bootcut Jeans: Wrangler

 

The tie is a recent addition and an acquired taste. It’s an androgynous symbol; women have been wearing ties since the 70’s. And since S/S 2011 is all about the 70’s influence, it’s a nice touch. Some like it, some don’t. Well, whatever it is you’re wearing, you have to be confident enough to strut around with it for a few hours. Otherwise, what’s the point of wearing it in the first place?

Created several contrasts with this attire:

  • White tie against a black top
  • Wearing the tie loose added to the whole “casual” feel, despite it being associated as something “strict”
  • Masculine symbol (tie) worn with a form-fitting blouse

By the way, I traded with my brother. Mine was red and it was too long for me; his was white and it was too short. Everybody wins.

And since my attire was slightly masculine, I decided to pair it with a trademark feminine look: lined eyes and red lips.

 

Glasses = did not get enough sleep. Haha! Makeup details listed below.

 

I’ve been sporting the winged eyeliner / “cat eye” look for a while now since I’m trying to perfect the “flick” for both eyes. I use an angled eyeliner brush. Not the best photo, really. You can see my BlackBerry too. Hahaha.

Makeup used for this look:

  • Foundation: CoverGirl Trublend Liquid Foundation
  • Concealer: Etude House Surprise Essence Concealer
  • Powder: Maybelline Clear Smooth Shine Free Face Powder (one layer)
  • Eyeliner: Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner (used an angled brush)
  • Lipstick: Wet n Wild Silk Finish (519 “hot red”) and a very thin sweep of NYX Round Lipstick (Electra) using a lip brush.
  • Blush: Ever Bilena Cheek Blush (“Honest”)

 

Who knows, maybe the next time I’ll be sporting a ruffled top with suspenders and smokey eye and nude lips combo.

Leave a Reply

