Review: Maybelline Color Sensational in Brick Rose

20 Mar

I really have to stop buying lipstick. I just bought my tenth tube: Maybelline Color Sensational in Brick Rose. I passed by the Maybelline counter at SM department store when I was on my way to Watson’s because I needed to buy toothpaste for my office use.

Anyway, about the lipstick… It’s a lovely red shade that’s not too sheer or too loud.

Maybelline Color Sensational in Brick Rose (taken without flash and under natural light)

 

It glides on pretty well and it’s got a hint of shimmer.

Most don’t consider red lipstick to be “office appropriate”; I think otherwise. I have the audacity to wear red lipstick to work anyway, even if I don’t really leave my desk. I’m a writer / social media executive; I’m in front of the computer the whole day.

But hey, it doesn’t hurt to dress up a bit. If it makes you feel good, then it might also make you feel productive. That’s why I like companies that would require their employees to wear either smart casual or business casual. I don’t about you but personally, casual attire in the workplace makes me feel like I’m just lounging around; hardly productive.

Tomorrow, I might take a picture of my Monday look.

Back to the product:

About the staying power, it doesn’t completely disappear even after you eat. I tried the lipstick before having lunch with the family (had Japanese food). Mom, bro and I also had coffee a few hours after eating. The shade was still there, though yes, it did erase about 75% of the color.

Good color and inexpensive at P299 per tube.

PS: The photo above was uploaded straight from the camera. No retouching was involved, digital or makeup-wise.

Leave a Reply

