Haul: MAC

15 Apr

I’ve come to discover that the stuff I purchase on a whim often become my best buys. Of course, I still consider the price tag but if I allow it to play around in my head for too long, weighing pros and cons, need vs want, I take ages to decide. And by the time I do, I end up not liking it as much as I did when I first saw it.

One of my best girl friends (who is as obsessed as I am, but I’m starting to think she’s worse) once commented about my self-restraint. Yeah, yeah. I need to trust my gut feeling more.

My latest payday haul (as I’ll start calling it), consists of two things: one, bought after much consideration and the other, bought on a pure “ooh-i-like-this!” feeling. I bought MAC Studio Finish Concealer in NW30 (P 1000) and Sheen Supreme Lipstick in Gotta Dash! (P 1000). A need and a want, respectively.

MAC Haul

I’ve been looking for a reliable concealer because my current one (etude house surprise essence) is a little too light on me even if its the darkest shade available. It does its job but I end up having to layer it in the morning and retouch it by noon. And, it makes my undereye area a tad gray. Ugh. I’ve read about the Studio Finish Concealer and did my research: coverage, feel, cost, staying power and I went to a MAC counter to ask the MUA what my shade is (NW30). I also found out that one tiny pan can last for years because you need just a tiny bit of the product. After much thought, I decided that I’ll buy it when I get my hard-earned cash. And so I did. Rushed off to MAC before I changed my mind for the umpteenth time.

The lipstick, on the other hand, is the complete opposite. Oddly enough, I was pretty averse to lipstick up until the beginning of this year. I was happy with lip balm. But then I discovered all the pretty colors! I just bought my eleventh (I think? Or is it twelfth?) tube: MAC Sheen Supreme lipstick.

This was what happened:

I went to the MAC counter and was idly looking through the lipsticks when the MUA greeted me. Just out of curiosity, I asked if he could recommend a shade closest to the famous MAC Toxic Tale. He paused and motioned for me to follow him, and so I did. He plucked out this thin, glossy tube from the display. The packaging was different from the standard MAC lippies and their bullet-like packaging so I knew it was of a different variant. It turned out to be  from the Sheen Supreme line. From the tube, it was pale orange/coral color. Initially, my main concern was that it was probably too light on me and it’ll just make me look darker. The MUA insisted that I try it on, so I swatched it on the back of my hand. But I had to remind myself that I was there for the concealer. I told the MUA I’ll think about it while we talked about why I was really there. Before the MUA headed off to the counter with my purchase, he asked if I’ll be getting anything else. I did a double take on the lipstick. Again, he insisted that I try it on; that I wear it. I couldn’t resist, t’was free to try, after all. And he said that it was its first day in the market (over here, atleast).

When I finished applying it to my lips, I took a step back and stared. I knew I was in trouble.  I loved it.  It’s described as a “pale clean coral”. It had a pink-orange shade on me and it looked pretty good against my NC42 skin. MUA recommended that I use a coral blush along with it. I didn’t bother with the pros and cons. I told the MUA I’ll take it. After paying for my stuff, I walked around the mall, parading the color on my lips.  I had to look in the mirror several times.

Lighting’s crap, but here’s a picture I took when I got home:

MAC Sheen Supreme Lipstick in Gotta Dash! NO PHOTOSHOP INVOLVED.

I’ll have to test both products on an errand day, when I’m outdoors and on a usual office day. And when the opportunity presents itself, when I go out at night (which is rare).

2 Responses to “Haul: MAC”

  1. Chris April 17, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

    I finally had the time to properly read and check out the photo of this post. I absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE the colour, definitely a great buy!

  2. kitkat April 21, 2011 at 4:19 am #

    hahaha thanks for the shoutout ❤

Leave a Reply

