Review: Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer

30 May

Summer: it makes my moisturizer sticky and the heat melts my foundation. But I’m not big on the idea that I’ll be leaving the house sans foundation and skin protection. My solution: tinted moisturizer. The brand that makes the best TMs: Laura Mercier.

Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer (Sand)

From the Laura Mercier website:

Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer is a sheer, lightweight moisturizer with SPF 20 & a hint of color that can be used in place of foundation for a natural appearance while adding a healthy glow to your complexion.

Read on for my review

Laura Mercier’s Tinted Moisturizers come in two variants: regular (silver tube) and oil-free (dark brown tube).

My shade: Sand

What I like about it:

  • lightweight feel when applied
  • it looks natural when blended properly. I’ve used a cosmetic wedge and flat foundation brush for this.
  • it feels cool on the face when applied
  • gives a dewy finish (note: this is the regular TM, not the oil-free version)
  • you only need just a bit of it, so for a 40ml tube, you get a lot of product and it’ll last a long time
  • packaging: comes in a squeeze tube so you can easily control how much product you’ll be using
  • coverage: similar to a foundation so if you want that natural “no-makeup” look, use just a little bit of this and blend well

FOTD using LM Tinted Moisturizer (picture taken with my BlackBerry Bold 9700)

It’s a wee bit pricey at P1850 (bought this at Rustan’s, Shangri-La Plaza Mall), but if you want good, quality product with proven results, you gotta shell a bit more than the average. Since Laura Mercier is famous for their well-raved tinted moisturizers, you know that this pretty good investment.

I still dust a thin layer of translucent finishing powder over this so the dewy effect was somewhat diminished, but not too much. Also, as with concealer, I let it sit for a minute or two before applying the next product. Methinks that the waiting time is the reason why I take so long to apply my makeup everyday. Hahaha.

Let me just throw in my normal routine when I use this product:

  • wash
  • toner
  • concealer
  • tinted moisturizer
  • powder
  • (rest of my makeup; cheeks, eyeliner, brows, lips, etc)

One step less (moisturize) compared to when I use regular foundation. That’s 5 minutes off my daily routine.

And as I mentioned earlier, it’s the summer season, so I will have to get back to you on its performance during the colder -ber months.

Leave a Reply

