Review: Revlon ColorBurst Lipstick (Fuchsia)

23 Jun

My signature look is subtle and never colorful. There is rarely any color on my eyelids except for a wash of neutral shadows. And today, I didn’t even bother with the winged eyeliner; I opted for the plain black line. There’s something about the rainy season that makes me super lazy to exert the same amount of effort on my face as I usually would.

Don’t get me wrong though, I’d never dream of skipping anything: moisturizer, concealer, foundation, powder, blush, eye primer, eyeshadow, eyeliner, curl eyelashes, mascara, eyebrows, lips.

So when I was in the elevator, I had to pause because there was a woman staring at me. I raised an eyebrow at her and vaguely wondered if there was something wrong with my face or my outfit (gray turtleneck, white jacket and black bootcut jeans) for that matter.

Then I remembered my lipstick. Yeah, it was probably that.

Today, I wore my Revlon ColorBurst Lipstick in Fuchsia. A very loud lip color to somewhat liven up my face (that suffers from Chronic Bitch Face, by the way).

Revlon ColorBurst Lipstick in Fuchsia

I first wore this when I bought the Revlon Matte Lipstick in Really Red at a sale. I was hesitant at first; I tend to stay away from shades of pink because it just doesn’t work with my skin color (NC42). Naturally tanned, I can wear red, peach, coral and orange without trouble but I couldn’t say the same thing about pink and nudes. When I swiped it on, I was already expecting to remove it until I stared in the mirror. Somehow, this blue-based fuchsia actually cooperated with my complexion!

As always, I had to wait until payday so I could buy this. The day before that, I went back to the Revlon counter and asked if they still have stocks on hand. There were only two left! Good thing the nice SA knew me by face so she offered to reserve one for me! I love the service already.

About the product:

  • Color – a shocking, blue-based fuchsia. It’s what fuchsia should be; not too pink, not too purple/violet. And bright but not carnival-esque.
  • Pay Off – Highly pigmented. One swipe will give you the color you need. It’s buildable too; light patting will give a nice pink stain and the apply-blot-reapply technique will give you it’s full color.
  • Texture – creamy and it glides very easily on the lips. it can get drying after a few hours, so I recommend using a lip balm a few minutes before applying this lipstick.
  • Staying Power – shorter, compared to the Revlon Matte Lipsticks, but then again, it’s better than your average lipstick. I had tapsilog and coke after I applied this and it was very much intact afterwards.
  • Price – A bit more expensive at Php575.

Here are more pictures of me wearing it:

indoor lighting (office)

 

with my baby boy, Sami

 

outdoors (in a cab, actually)

 

It’s an awesome find. Will definitely buy again.

Leave a Reply

