Review: MAC Studio Fix Fluid

30 Jun

Actually, I didn’t buy this. This was a gift from my mom who bought this during her recent trip to Bangkok, Thailand. From my previous post, this isn’t my priority foundation. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not a crappy foundation at all; it’s being sold locally for Php1750 so I can easily buy this, as opposed to Bobbi Brown or NARS.

MAC Studio Fix Fluid (NC42)

What I think of it:

  • Coverage – Buildable and does not cake. I can get sheer (damp cosmetic wedge) to medium (flat foundation brush) coverage with the MAC SFF.
  • Shade – My favorite MAC MUA suggested the shade NC42 on me. When I swatched it on my jaw, it was a perfect shade match. The product in the bottle looked a tad too dark, but when applied, it blends well with my skin. It has a strong yellow undertone  which gives it that caramel color and, again, is just right for me.
  • Smell – At first I hated the smell, but upon the third or fourth time that I’ve used it, it wasn’t that bad anymore. Guess I’ve grown desensitized.
  • Price – Rustan’s sells this for Php 1750, making it cheaper than Bobbi Brown or NARS and up to par with Clinique and Laura Mercier. The price isn’t that big of a deal since I’ll be using this for a long time.
  • Expiry – 24M (or 2 years) after you’ve opened the bottle.
  • Others – The main thing that I dislike about this foundation is that it doesn’t come with a pump (and it’s not being sold locally, unlike NARS). Also, the cap has a matte rubber texture and that’s one well-known dirt magnet (hello NARS). Oh, and I didn’t break out when I used this.

open bottle

As always, I set this with translucent powder or dab my MAC Blot Powder in places where I usually oil up and even it out with a kabuki brush. I also use Korres Quercetin and Oak Age-Reversing Primer to add to the foundation’s already-decent staying power so I only have to retouch the powder after I’ve had lunch.

Overall? Yeah, I’d buy this again when I run out. It’s a good everyday foundation. But right now, I’m trying to limit its use until I’ve purchased a MAC foundation pump so I don’t have to waste the product by pouring out too much.

One Response to “Review: MAC Studio Fix Fluid”

  1. Sai October 23, 2012 at 11:59 am #

    Congratulations for finally convincing me to buy NC42. It’s in my next shopping list 😛

Leave a Reply

