HG: Face

19 Aug

Since I previously featured different FOTDs using my HGs, I figured that I should feature the products themselves!

My buying process is somewhat a meticulous one. I usually spend a lot of time thinking if it’s a need or a want, if I have something like it or not, if I could do without it or not, etc. I also read a lot of reviews. I get the idea that it’s not the same with everybody, but if most people are raving about it, then the product must be doing something right. I also find it useful if my friends have it; whenever I express interest in it, they’re more than willing to talk about it – rave or rant.

By visiting stores, I also check if the product is available locally and how much it costs. If it is available, I swatch it too. Sometimes, I even check (reputable) resellers as they’re usually cheaper compared to mall prices.

Even though anything above Php2,000 on a single item would make me think twice, it really depends on the level of lemming or need. I broke my own rule twice and it took months of consideration.

Anyway, I’ve been experimenting for a while now and I think I’ve found what works for me. Hopefully now, I won’t spend as much and I’ve already categorized which products would suit my specific needs.

This is the first of three posts. Here, I’m going to focus on the products I use on my face.

On to the list!

foundation

I’ve done a lecture on office-friendly makeup. Yes, you can build a reliable kit with a budget of Php2,000 tops. But, I’m a firm believer that one shouldn’t scrimp on foundation. It’s okay to shell out just a little more on foundation than end up with breakouts or allergies plus, it’ll save you from a trip to your dermatologist and further expenses. If you have a good, reliable skin care routine that you religiously follow, you shouldn’t have to slather on too much foundation, hence saving on product usage. Also, one bottle should last a long time so you don’t have to worry about replenishing soon.

My HG Foundation:

  • Good Skin Days / Special Occasions  – Bobbi Brown Skin Foundation (lightweight, natural, long-lasting and dewy. Coverage: sheer to medium)
  • Everyday Use – MAC Studio Fix Fluid (long-lasting and matte. Coverage: sheer to medium to heavy)
  • Errand Days – Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer (not foundation but provides reliable coverage)
  • Breakout Days – Clinique Superbalanced Makeup (formerly, now I’m looking for a new one to try.. NARS Sheer Glow, maybe? Bwahahaha)
  • Rush / Lazy Days – MAC Studio Fix Powder + Foundation

powder

I set my makeup with powder, to make it last longer. I’m not big on touching up every five minutes so wear time is a big factor for me.

My HG Powder:

  • Finishing Powder – Ellana Minerals Translucent Finishing Powder (does not alter the shade of the foundation)
  • Oil Control  – MAC Blot Powder

blushes

Confession: I’m not a blush collector. Haha. I seriously think that a girl can live with two colors: pink and coral/peach. Or maybe that’s just me. I have medium-dark skin (NC42), so the latter works better on me. Unless, it’s a warm pink, of course. Also, I wanna try matte blushes.

My HG Blushes:

  • Sheer Pink – TheBalm Hot Mama (this looks like a warmer NARS Orgasm)
  • Coral – LE MAC My Paradise

concealer / corrector

I cannot live without concealer. My zombie face is caused by serious dark undereye circles. Sometimes, I can get away with just using a concealer, but on especially bad days, I needed the extra help from peach-based correctors.

My HG Concealers:

  • Concealer – MAC Studio Finish Concealer
  • Corrector – Bobbi Brown Corrector

You might start to think that I’m a makeup snob. I haven’t listed any drugstore brands yet! I use them though; my HG eyeliner, mascara, and some eyeshadows are definitely drug store brands.

Watch out for my next post this weekend!

Leave a Reply

