HG: Eyes

29 Aug

So sorry for not updating. That’s what happens when the real world becomes a bit too demanding. If my friend hadn’t complained, I probably would’ve postponed updating. Haha.

Anyway, here’s the continuation of the HG series: Eyes.

mascara

I told you I’m not a complete makeup snob. A well-known drugstore brand is Maybelline and I think (as some would agree with me) that their mascaras are one of the best. Since mascara is something you have to toss out every three months, I see no point in buying something that’s crazy expensive. Also, I’m fortunate enough to have decent lashes in volume and length. Still, it wouldn’t hurt to add a bit of oomph to them, right?

HG Mascara:

  • Volume – Maybelline The Magnum (asian counterpart of the Colossal)
  • Length – Maybelline Stiletto

I love these two because they’re no-nonsense: no clumping, waterproof, stays put, performs well and they’re inexpensive. The Magnum is a staple in my daily kit. I might try the Maybelline Cat Eyes next; I’m super curious about that quirky wand. Oh and the Maybelline Pulse Perfection too!

Moving on…

eye primer

Problem: I have oily lids despite having a dry combination skin. So no matter how waterproof or budge-proof my eyeliner is, it would still transfer to my crease. Then I figured out how to solve this problem: a reliable eye primer and a wash of eyeshadow. I had the privilege of trying out UDPP when a sampler size came with the UD Naked Palette. It does what an eye primer should: enhances eyeshadow color, makes it stay put, makes it crease-free and it controls the oil on the lids. Problem it, it’s a wee bit expensive. That’s when Etude House’s Proof 10 Eye Primer comes in; it challenged the famed UDPP by performing just as well, but without the hefty price tag. Still, I use both.

HG Eye Primers:

  • Everyday – Etude House Proof 10 Eye Primer
  • Special Occasions – Urban Decay Primer Potion

But what do I use for eye shadow?

eye shadows

HG Eye Shadows:

  • All Around – UD Naked Palette
  • Lazy Days – Wet n Wild ColorIcon Trio (Walking on Eggshells)
  • Go For Gold Days – Lancome Eye shadow duo (Rustique / Honeymoon)

It took a birthday, months of consideration and comparison, a LOT of reviews and one enabler to convince me to get the Naked palette; I’m a neutrals girl, after all – it’s almost a crime to NOT consider the palette. But before that, my Wet n Wild palette has served me really well and I have yet to hit a quarter of the pan! It’s super reliable if I just want a lid wash or a subtle contour. It’s pretty small too, so I have no problem when it comes to squeezing this into my kit whenever I’m running late (I discovered that I can do my makeup – sans eyeliner – in a cab. The whole face.) Neutrals are the go-to shades for office-friendly makeup. Sure, it wouldn’t hurt to add a bit of color, but I always find myself reaching out for the neutrals in my stash. I might start collecting mac eye shadows for the colored shades. Ahem.

And finally, the one product I cannot live (or leave the house) without: eyeliner.

I’ve become partial to gel liners as they’re so much easier to apply. Originally, I wanted MAC Fluidline but I never got around to buying it. To tell you the truth, I talked myself out of it as I found two reliable alternatives.

HG Eyeliners:

  • Thinner and winged lines – Maybelline Gel Liner
  • Quicker application – In2It Waterproof Gel Liner

The Maybelline is a great alternative to the MAC Fluidline. I have this product to thank for my perfect winged liner look. It comes with a brush that can really perform too! The In2It gel liner is a dupe of the UD 24/7s. And it literally is waterproof; I have to use a cleansing oil to get rid of this every night. Both are inexpensive, very creamy, has incredible pigmentation and staying power.

So! These products are what I use on my eyes. The final one would be for the lips (as you could recall, I have a lot of lipsticks). After that entry, I’ll post the new direction I’m now gearing towards. Watch out for that!

Leave a Reply

