I write: “Smile”

13 Sep

I write stories and essays. I used to be pretty decent, but teaching, working late hours and waiting for emails at 3AM are just… meh. It killed the voices in my head. Or as somebody told me, “the voices do not abandon thee” (pretty dramatic, Teach) — I know it’s there, they’re just not cooperating. They’ve been quiet for more than two years. My fault since I’ve neglected them.

With the stress I’ve been dealing with for the past month, I’ve reached the point where I just want to do the things I actually enjoy. I have my makeup (even if I’m not supposed to wear it for a while), I’m thinking of going back to painting, maybe photography, been reading a lot and I’m slowly reacquainting myself with writing.

Right now, I’m trying to give as much time as I could in finally writing a story that’s been playing in my head for over a year. I have the details, but self-editing is one disease (or fault) that I can’t seem to get rid of, coupled with the impression that it’s not even a good story or idea. And earlier today, it hit me like a truck: to hell with editing; if it’s crap, then it’s crap — at least it’s finally out of my system!

My deadline is on Saturday, 11:59pm.

Here’s a sneak peek:

image from GettyImages ( credit to: Jose Luis Pelaez, Inc)

“Smile, friend.” His passenger – a ruddy faced man in a crisp suit – clapped his shoulder as though they’ve been friends for a long time. The man sported a slight frown, clearly worried about his driver.

Trivia: One quirk of mine is that pictures speak to me. Seriously. If I really need to get a story done, I look for a picture and stare at it for a long time until it starts talking (or words just form in my head).

You’ll find out soon enough what this one is about. Meanwhile, here’s the last thing I wrote and.. it was written in 2009 pa. >_>

Leave a Reply

