Haul: NARS and MAC

14 Oct

It’s PAYDAY, so really, this post shouldn’t come as a surprise. Today, I covered two lemmings and one impulse buy.

there goes my salary

Readers (and close friends) of this blog and blogger would know what the number one thing in my wishlist is for months now. Finally, I couldn’t take it anymore; with an unintentional push from Liz and one notorious enabler, I finally killed the lemming and bought it: NARS Sheer Glow Foundation (Php 2450). Here’s what I don’t get: for something so pricey, you’d think that NARS would be nice enough to include the foundation pump, but no– they just had to milk it for what it’s worth (and it was worth Php 395). MAC suffers from the same greediness marketing strategy.

Also, I’ve been on the look out for my first contouring powder. It was a battle between a darker MAC Mineralized SkinFinish, MAC Matte Blush in Harmony, TheBalm Bahama Mama and NARS Laguna. Laguna and MAC MSF were eliminated because of the hefty price tags (both at Php 1800) that I couldn’t afford at the moment. I checked TheBalm and found out that Bahama Mama (Php 775) comes off as too muddy on me, surprisingly enough. Initially, I didn’t want to spend too much on a contouring powder that I won’t be using everyday but when I asked the MAC MUA/SA to try Harmony on me, I was sold. I bought Harmony for Php 1300.

I absolutely cannot wait to use these.

brain fodder

I dropped by Fully Booked Shang earlier to pick up an anthology with the quirkiest title I’ve ever seen: “There Once Lived a Woman Who Tried to Kill Her Neighbor’s Baby: Scary Fairytales” (Php 599) by Lundmilla Petrushevskaya. What a mouthful. And can I just say that I get a kick out of asking folks at bookstores for that title; they always think it’s a joke. Sasha once reviewed this book and it took me months to track it down. To tell you the truth, I’ve been looking for this even before I saw her review, when I did, I just became more determined and was eventually disappointed. It was on a whim that I asked Fully Booked BHS if they have a copy and they did so I asked them to have it transferred to Shang.

So, there you go. I’m going to stay at home this weekend as there’s the 3-day Sale at Megamall and Robinson’s Galleria decided to give ’em some competition. Seriously, I just shelled out a total of Php 4100+. I don’t think I’ll be buying anything for a while.

Oh, and I have work to finish this weekend: a design, powerpoint presentations and a report. Sigh. Fine. This is the reason why I buy expensive stuff anyway.

Shopping ban, are you back?

Leave a Reply

