Meet Sami

22 Oct

Let’s take a break from all the makeup, shall we? Instead, meet my son, Sami.

Sami was born in February 2010 and is my very first dog. Yeah, I’ve never had pets before. We’ve had dogs, true, but they’re not mine, per se. He’s a Shih Tzu and according to the breed standards (as I learned later on), he’s hella faulty. But I’m not after a show dog, I wanted a pet that can keep me entertained and a baby I can dote upon.

Actually, Sami came from a litter of five boys. The dam / mother is owned by one of my students. I never actually saw him in person before, only in the pictures. Sure, there are others that are so much cuter but when I saw Sami’s picture when he was just 8 weeks old, I knew this isn’t a typical puppy. For one, the picture I saw of a very young him was that of one where he was staring intently at the camera/photographer. It wasn’t a blank stare either. It was attentive, intelligent and a touch shrewd.

I had to have him. Good thing my student had an INC in my class. Kidding. Getting the puppy was also a way of helping him out as his girlfriend just gave birth. It wasn’t an impulse buy, by the way. I spent considerable time researching on the breed and read 100+ pages worth of forum discussions – health problems, diet, how to housebreak, etc.

I also bought all his things: brush, food bowl, water dispenser, shampoo, toys and a cage. I’m not big on the idea of caging dogs but it was necessary – at home, I was asked who will take care of him when I’m at work and it was the only solution I could think of. Also, I didn’t trust anybody to keep an eye on him. The cage was also for housebreaking. I knew that nobody would bother to take him outside so he could poop and pee.

Sami was brought to me inside a paper bag.

He was tiny; no bigger than a gatorade bottle. I quickly pulled him out of the paper bag and we got acquainted. He was shaking so I did my best to comfort him. Guess neither of us knew what we were doing; we’re both pretty new at it. Note that I was at school during this time (after class hours) so it was fine to carry him around. The faculty room was airconditioned and he liked it. He fell asleep immediately.

3mos

We named him Sami. If I were to write it out, very few people would know where I got the name from. Also, it didn’t help that when his daddy and I named him, there was a bottle of beer nearby.

I took him to the vet for a checkup. I got his stats so I’d be able to monitor his growth and he was scheduled to come back in two weeks for another round of shots. The vet also gave him meds for earmites. The clinic was too far and I didn’t really like how they handled him at first so I decided to take him elsewhere for his next check up. I brought him to Vets in Practice.

It was summer when I got him, so whenever I could, I brought him with me to school where I’d hole up inside a classroom, open the AC, check exams and generate grades while he sleeps.  If he was at home, I would leave him with a fan and a supply of iced water. Plus, I’d task somebody to give him a frozen gatorade bottle wrapped in a towel that he could cuddle with to combat the heat.

It was a heartwarming thing to come home to something that’d welcome you after a stressful (I taught college) day. Dogs are natural empaths, they could feel what you’re feeling and they’ll stick by you no matter what.

4 mos

When he was growing up, he gave me a fair share of heart attacks; he vomited yellowish acid (turns out he was hungry – I spent Php 1500+), hanged himself with his leash and collar by jumping out of my hold, he choked once (I had to pull it out and he ended up biting me), he fell from a chair and walked away as if nothing happened, got stuck in a fly trap, chewed some mothballs as if they were candy, but you know what? He survived all of that, still wearing his perpetual grin.

5 mos

Sami is one of those dogs with smiling faces. Whenever he up to something and you caught him in the act, he’d laugh and run away. He’s a super friendly and playful boy, ask anybody who’ve met him. He’s a bit of a bully too, but I suppose that’s my fault for spoiling him.

He also has that distinct walk; he struts, actually. You could see his hips swaying whenever he walks. Actually, he reminds me of his daddy up until now (sigh). He winks too.

When he’s a little older and he’s been potty trained (he goes inside his cage to do his business), I let him roam the house freely even if I’m not around. As a lap dog, you’d expect him to be quiet and sweet — Sami’s more efficient as a guard dog; he’s very alert and would make sure that you know there’s a stranger at the gate. When there are strangers inside the house, he’d tail them everywhere.

He likes to watch TV, sleep, steal dirty laundry, hide slippers and shoes and loves to spend time in front of his fan. He’d sit in a way that would remind you of a little kid (or a monkey).

I tried to let his hair grow, but it was hard work. His hair, not as thick as others of the same breed, is sparse and it grows really straight (bagsak, as it were). For the longest time, he didn’t want me to tie his hair into a top knot, but I guess he realized that if I don’t, he won’t be able to see, so now he lets me groom him while he watches TV.

the yeti at 8 mos

By the way, he’s raw fed. No dog food, no table food. Pure raw feeding. His favorite is beef. He also likes cheese and boiled liver (but I don’t give him too much of this, only when training; his poop ends up becoming too soft).

He’s afraid of heights. He wouldn’t jump from chairs or the couch. He is, however, pretty good at balancing on two legs. And, he’s a high jumper.

He sleeps in my room because of the AC and he loves rolling around on the floor. He’d come up to me and ask if I could rub his tummy or play with him before he’d give me a goodnight kiss.

Sometimes, he’d even wake me up if I try to sleep past noon.

He’s also on the vain side. Sami would know when it’s time for him to be groomed. He loves attention and would find ways for you to look at him. He’s a smart little boy who knows what he wants and knows how to get it. When you talk to him, he’d look at you and listen. It’s funny how sometimes, he’d even try to talk back in short little barks or that weird gesture of opening his mouth and looking as if he was talking.

Unlike other dogs, Sami has a very expressive face. You could tell what he’s feeling and what he wants by just looking at him. As an empath, he could easily tell when I’m a touch stressed (or sad) and would just come up to me and let me hug him; he doesn’t flinch or move, he’d listen and look at me questioningly, as his way of asking me if I’m feeling better.

Dogs are long-time companions and this one would be mine; this exasperating little dog with his quirks, his intelligence and his big heart will always be my one and only little boy. Hope you’ll get to meet him one day.

Hi, all!

One Response to “Meet Sami”

  1. Martha October 22, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

    Hello Sami! He reminds me of King, my Shih Tzu (God bless his soul). He has a handsome face! 😀

Leave a Reply

