Spotlight: Silk Creation

6 Nov

The biggest chore I have during weekends is to give my Sami a bath. My back suffers, seriously. I have to place him on a kiddie chair that’s only as high as my knee. Still, as a pet parent, it’s something you gotta do.

And don’t get me started on the drying process.

So. How do I transform that (see above) to this:

No magic. No rocket science. And definitely no photoshop. Just a very reliable shampoo from Silk Creation.

Lemme give you a brief background on Sami’s coat. A normal Shih Tzu is supposed to have a luxurious double coat. It’s thick and soft. Sami, however, being the special  little boy that he is (haha) is an exception; he’s a single-coated Shih Tzu, making his coat thinner and a tad more sparse than that of a standard Shih Tzu. Its texture seems dry too.

And by using the wrong shampoo and conditioner, whether your pet adheres to their breed standard or not, you can end up drying out his coat unintentionally.

I did that. Sami’s previous shampoo is from a well-known brand (fine, it’s from #1 All Systems). Smells great, works well, but it’s not really compatible with the weather that we have. Sami’s hair ended up becoming frizzy.

Silk Creation is a pet shampoo made from Thailand, which in itself, makes it more suitable for dogs in our country because it’s designed for dogs who live in this kind of climate. Silk Creation has an entire line of dog grooming materials – shampoo, conditioner, grooming spray and the like. And the products aren’t breed-specific; they can work on any coat.

You might think it’s a little pricey for dog shampoo at Php 600 per 500ml. It is, actually. But it’s super concentrated that you have to mix it with water first at a 1:10 ratio (ie. 10ml shampoo + 100ml water). Same with the conditioner.

With Sami’s hair, I use a 1:15 ratio. His coat is thinner, remember?

A 500ml bottle lasted me for a year (Sami takes a bath once a week). I only repurchased a few weeks ago from Eric Lezarda of Yeryk Shih Tzu, who’s the only authorized reseller of Silk Creation. If you get in touch with him via the Silk Creation Fan Page on Facebook, I think you can ask whether they have samples. But take it from me (and from Sami), their stuff is awesome. For Sami, I saw how his coat became softer and less frizzy. It also looked healthier. The shampoo is really good when getting rid of the dirt (see the pictures for yourself) and the conditioner makes his coat manageable. I pair the shampoo and conditioner with SC’s grooming spray. Silk Creation has brightening shampoos too, which is particularly good if your dog has stains.

Silk Creation is a frequent sponsor of Dell and Ardy’s seminars. Samples are included inside loot bags, so that’s another reason why you ought to attend those. Both Orion Shih Tzu and Yaki Shih Tzu swear by the brand. I’ve heard how both breeders raved about the products. See, despite how the coats of their award-winning dogs are subjected to heat from straightening irons during shows and hours of grooming, SC managed to revive their coats and prevented it from further damage.

Sami’s no champion, but he is one happy customer.

PS: I’m not getting paid to write about the brand. I did because their stuff really works. It’s a must have.

5 Responses to “Spotlight: Silk Creation”

  1. eric Lezarda November 6, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

    Thanks Sara Garces! I am glad that Sami is beautiful by Silk Creation! 🙂

  2. marian November 6, 2011 at 10:19 pm #

    Your dogs are gorgeous! I’m very interested in trying this shampoo. Where can I find it?

  3. ardy November 8, 2011 at 6:28 pm #

    ganda na sammy congrats sarah !!! and i agree, with silk creations , it makes my babies hair fabulous

  4. Dindo Medina November 8, 2011 at 9:32 pm #

    I agree.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

