Review: NARS Sheer Glow

14 Nov

By the time I finally sit down and start writing this post, it means I’m done procrastinating.

So. Payday is coming up, and surprisingly enough, there is nothing on my wishlist. Well, technically there are a few eyeshadow and lipstick shades and maybe an expensive foundation or a PRO brush set, but they don’t have the same pull, the same strong lemming as the one product that I managed to buy a few weeks back: NARS Sheer Glow.

NARS Sheer Glow Foundation (Barcelona)

Despite the price tag attached to it, this 30ml foundation is one of my best. investments. ever. If I’m reduced to culling my collection down to 25 items, this would definitely be one of ’em.

In an old post, I wrote about my HG foundations. They’re cult favorites: Bobbi Brown Skin Foundation, MAC Studio Fix Fluid, Clinique Superbalanced Makeup and a Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer. I added NARS Sheer Glow to the list after a few months.

But lately, I find myself reaching out for Bobbi Brown and NARS more, which does result in a nagging feeling because it’s the two most expensive in my stash.

I bought Sheer Glow at Rustan’s for Php 2450 (plus Php 400 for the pump) after months of lemming and because I’m out of Clinique, which was my HG foundation during breakout/bad-skin days. It didn’t help that my BFF-slash-personal-enabler also has Sheer Glow in her bag and she swears by it (which is saying something because she’s not a “foundation person”). What sealed the deal was when I met Liz and she mentioned this in passing during our meeting about how much she loves it.

I didn’t even put up a fight at the NARS counter as I usually would, considering it’s waaay beyond what I’m willing to pay for one item. Haha. I just went there and bought it.

I was surprised at the shade. When I first swatched this (a few months ago, I think), I was a Syracuse and just before I bought it, the SA suggested that I try Barcelona and when I did, it was a perfect shade match. Guess my summer shade’s gone. That explains why I don’t go for the MAC Studio Fix Fluid anymore. Haha.

And so, I think I’ve been using this long enough for me to finally write about it.

What I like:

  • Coverage. Naming this “Sheer (glow)” is a tad misleading. The coverage varies from medium to full depending on how much product you use and the type of brush; forgo the sponge and use brushes! For full coverage, use the uber dense CHARM Flat Top Brush, but personally I like to use this with the CHARM Stippling Brush or the foundation brush.
  • Buildable coverage and this conceals minor blemishes but I still use concealer for my dark circles.
  • Finish. When people see the word “glow”, immediately they think of a dewy finish. This one has a soft matte finish; not completely matte, but not dewy either. They’re not entirely wrong though, it does leave a subtle luminosity; a glow-from-within effect. This looks like your skin, but a hundred times better.

no photoshop!

  • Consistency. It’s not as watery as Bobbi Brown Skin Foundation, but not as creamy as MAC Studio Fix Fluid either. It’s somewhere in between.
  • You don’t need a lot of product to cover the whole face. I use about half a pump’s worth
  • Set this with translucent powder, but not too much or you won’t get to flaunt the awesome finish of the foundation
  • This works for all skin types
  • Long lasting! I don’t use primers, and this is very much intact by the end of an 8-hour shift
  • No white cast

What I don’t like:

  • The cost! It’s pricey and it doesn’t come with its own pump (which you have to buy that separately) – but I can overlook the price tag since this foundation is a freaking dream come true, really.

I’m not a brand snob or a cheapskate, but I am a strong believer in the idea of if a product works for you, buy it. When you have cash to spare, I recommend that you to check this out.

And one shouldn’t scrimp on foundation, after all.

Overall, this has quickly become a staple in my stash and I’ll definitely buy this again once I run out, shouldn’t be for a few more months so I have enough time to save up for it.

7 Responses to “Review: NARS Sheer Glow”

  1. Martha November 14, 2011 at 8:03 am #

    lovely finish! 😀 I think imma bring this back to my lemming list. 🙂

    • Sara November 14, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

      This foundation is the reason why I haven’t rushed off to Beauty Bar yet to buy the Koh Gen Do foundation. Haha!

  2. sparklingrose November 14, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

    WOW, your skin looks GREAT! I’m sold now!

    • Sara November 14, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

      Buy it! BUY IT NOW! xD

  3. hoayfen November 15, 2011 at 7:10 am #

    yayyyy XD I’m you like it! And thank you for putting into words what I couldn’t – I told you it was matte!

    • Sara November 19, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

      This is YOUR fault, by the way.

      THANKS! :))

  4. micheatsandshops December 6, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    Looks lovely, Sara! Not as expensive as I thought I would be. Got mine for PHP1K+ lang but from a vlogger from the UK. 🙂

Leave a Reply

