Review: Impulse Co Satchels

31 Dec

I have a soft spot for structured bags. Satchels, in particular. So you can imagine how much I drooled over the Cambridge Satchels when they first came out. However, it’s not easy to acquire those bags. Aside from the budget-breaking price tag, it’s only available through online resellers and there’s a mile-long queue of people who want the same bag.

Needless to say, I came to terms with the realization that I probably won’t be getting a Cambridge Satchel in the near future.

Then I came across Impulse Co. (Desperate for Bags) at the Trendsetter’s Bazaar last year where I bought my first Cambridge Satchel inspired bag, in red.

Fast-forward a few months and my liking did not diminish, at all.

Likes:

  • This satchel comes in different sizes. The sizes vary from 13″, 11″ and 9″.
  • They’re much more affordable than the Cambridge Satchel. The 13″ is being sold at Php 850, the 11″ and the 9″ at Php 650.
  • Considerably lightweight.
  • I can definitely say that the 13″ satchel is roomy! I used this bag for my last “what’s in my bag” post and you can check out how much stuff it can hold.
  • It comes in different colors.
  • It’s made of synthetic leather.

Dislikes:

  • It’s not a knock-off, per se, since they never claimed to be Cambridge Satchels, but since Impulse Co. gained quite a following because of these satchels, don’t be too surprised if you come across another person with the same bag.
  • It has that strange, almost rubbery feel. You can definitely feel when it’s a tad dusty, but it can be cleaned quickly enough (I use baby wipes).

Neutral:

  • As expected, the smaller you go, the less junk it can hold. The 9″ satchel can fit one notebook, a pen, a makeup pouch (containing my MAC Studio Fix Powder + Foundation and a lipstick), a very thin cardholder/wallet and two phones. This isn’t much of a problem for me, since I bought the 9″ as my errand/coffee/trip-to-the-bookstore bag.

Size Comparison:

Here’s a shot of the red 13″ and the beige 9″, side by side.

And when you compare the width…

Here’s me with the red satchel. It can definitely add a touch of much-needed color and is an effective accessory to any casual outfit.

(c) Liz Lanuzo & Ferretti

Overall, I like these bags. Some people might not like the idea of having two bags of the same design, but being the hoarder/collector that I am, I don’t mind. In fact, I’m eyeing the 11″ satchel in tan for a more classic/traditional touch. But hey, it’s not an urgent need so it can definitely wait since I’m pretty happy with what I have.

Don’t forget to visit Impulse Co. on Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/impulseco). They also have other bags to choose from.

Leave a Reply

