Food: Tuna Week

7 Mar

There’s this ongoing craze here at the office: becoming fit. As of this writing, the guys are arranging a basketball game. This craze started a few weeks ago when some of my colleagues availed a discounted trial at Gold’s Gym and they’ve been working out before and after their shift.

Can’t blame them, I suppose. With the stress and the desk work, you’re bound to lead one unhealthy lifestyle. We used to drink almost every other night, indulge in binge eating and sit around for eight hours a day.

Admittedly, I’m lazy; hence the lack of workouts and dieting. But, ever since we moved to the head office, I’ve been walking from Robinson’s Galleria to Shangri-la every day (after work, of course). I suppose that’s my main form of exercise: walking. Though I’ve been getting comments that I’m losing weight, it could mean that it’s somewhat effective or it’s just a result of stress.

Anyhow, one day, I suddenly got tired of what I eat every lunch – I’m the type who can eat/order the same thing for weeks – and decided that I need a break from all the fried food and go for something that’s a little healthier. It just so happens to be one of my comfort foods: tuna.

Yesterday I prepared this: a spicy Tuna Pasta Salad using mixed greens and Farfalle pasta. Surprisingly, my colleagues liked it. For somebody who doesn’t really know how to cook, that’s one hell of an accomplishment.

Today, I skipped the pasta and piled on the tuna:

Common ingredients used for both:

  1. Tuna
  2. Black Olives
  3. Garlic
  4. Onions
  5. Chili Garlic (yay for spicy)
  6. Olive Oil
  7. Mushrooms
  8. Mixed Greens
  9. Tomato
  10. Salt and Pepper

So. What’s for lunch?

Leave a Reply

