Review: LA Girl Pro Conceal HD Concealer

20 Mar

I’m currently bed-ridden with the flu as I write this post. Yeah, it took an illness to get me to finally update after.. well, quite a while. So I’m here with a review for ya.

Confession: I’m out of concealer. I finished up my HG concealer (MAC Studio Finish) quite a while ago so I’ve been living off on a tiny pot of Benefit Erase Paste. Don’t get me wrong, it does it job nicely ‘cept that I usually do my makeup when I get to the office hence the lack of brushes or tools to scrape the product from the packaging and apply it on to my worsening undereye circles.

The solution, really, is to find a concealer that I can easily tote around without worrying about how I can  hygienically apply it to my face without needing to bring more tools with me.

So last Sunday, I was wandering around the beauty section of SM Megamall’s department store, I came across something of a surprise: LA Girl PRO Conceal HD Concealer (Php 299.00).

It’s an impulse buy.  Really, for that price, I don’t think I’d mind if it was a flop. Luckily, it wasn’t.

LIKES:

  • Cheap at Php 299.00
  • Wide range of shades
  • Easy to apply with built-in brush/applicator
  • Creamy, not runny
  • Easy to tote around because of the squeeze tube packaging (which is exactly what I was looking for)
  • It does not budge all day

Applicator

DISLIKES:

  • I got the shade in Pure Beige, which I think is one shade lighter than say, NW30, which is my shade for the MAC Studio Finish.
  • Availability of shades; you’re lucky if they’re fully stocked at the LA Girl Counter
  • The applicator is smooth but can feel a little flimsy

NEUTRAL:

  • Due to the creamy-but-not-too-much consistency, it dries pretty fast.  Some people would prefer a bit more drying time just so they could blend it in properly
  • Be careful on squeezing the tube or you’ll end up with too much product
  • Personally, I still like to apply a bit on the back of my hand before using my ring finger to apply this onto my under eye area

I think the trick with this is to layer on the product and not to slather on too much. And once it’s been set with powder, it doesn’t crease nor does it budge.

I’ve been using this for a few days and I can say that yes, I like it. It’s convenient. Maybe I would repurchase but sadly, it still can’t replace my current HG which I will be buying a fresh pot of, soon.

Leave a Reply

