Review: Camaru Naturals Acerola White C Soap

1 Apr

There’s a new player in town: Camaru Naturals. Here’s a quick introduction about ’em:

We founded our company to offer effective and safe personal skin care products for people who seek to experience the benefits of nature. We aim to educate people to the benefits their skin can get from fruits, vegetables and botanical plants found in rainforests. We aspire to let people discover traditional botanical and minerals are the best means to naturally cleanse, moisturize and revitalize the skin. We believe ancient beauty regimens are still the most valuable, proven and effective and still applies best to our current environment and lifestyle to protect and care for our skin.

And the lovely people behind the brand sent me a few goodies to try, namely their bestsellers. After an extended period of time (I try to maximize the usage, particularly when it comes to skin care), I’m here to post a review on one of their products: the Acerola White C Soap.

source: Camaru Naturals Facebook Page

Acerola fruit is abundantly found in Brazil. It is one of the world’s richest natural sources of Vitamin C. This important antioxidant ingredient helps to reverse the effects of skin damage caused by the sun and pollution and helps brighten uneven skin tone. This whitening soap is made from the extract of Acerola fruit combined with Camellia Oil, Rice Bran Oil and Carica Papaya Extract to give you a healthier, brighter and younger looking skin.

Let’s backtrack a little bit. Acerola (aka Barbados cherry, West Indian cherry, Malpighia emarginata) is a fruit that looks like an apple but is the size of a cherry or a cherry tomato. Cute, but interestingly, it’s one effective source of Vitamin C and is a potent anti-oxidant. What Camaru Naturals did is to use the fruit (or fruit extracts, if you want to be more specific) and deliver it to you in the form of a soap.

Let’s move on to the review.

LIKES:

  • Refreshing scent
  • If you’re a fan of sudsy soaps, this lathers up quite nicely (yay for foam and bubbles!)
  • But when you wash it off, it leaves no residue
  • I’m a fan of the squeaky clean feeling that it gives you afterwards
  • One bar lasts quite a long time. I used this for almost a month. Though note that I used this on an average of 4 times a week (you’ll see why later) and I made sure I don’t leave it on a container that can hold water as I’m pretty sure it’ll just melt, as most soaps do
  • Inexpensive at P 125.00

DISLIKES:

  • Admittedly, I have dry skin and I think for the first two weeks of not giving this soap a day off, it dried me out even more. Though a contributing factor to that could be the bipolar summer that we’re currently experiencing. Either way, I had to cut back on its usage and I made sure that I apply lotion after taking a bath.

NEUTRAL:

  • This isn’t readily available in stores, folks. You have to order online, but that’s easy enough; just drop by their Facebook page
  • Whitening. Again, I have a neutral stand on whitening products – I neither love nor hate ’em – but you gotta admit that it does have its uses. I didn’t really notice any dramatic whitening, but I did notice that I wasn’t getting any darker despite the summer sun (when it’s there). The whitening part, may be one of the more long term results

Overall, I think it’s a rather promising product (and brand, at that) and it’s sure selling fast so make sure you check it out.

You can find Camaru Naturals on Facebook and Twitter.

Leave a Reply

