Review: NARS Blush in Amour

3 May

I’m a cliche as I type this: I have red lipstick on and I’m currently munching on an apple. I’m surrounded by seven colleagues, all of whom are dudes. I wouldn’t be surprised if I’d be out cold in a while. I want my prince. Ahem.

Anyhow, my addiction continues. I’ve collected and used a fair number of foundations, lipsticks, eyeshadows and now I’m attracted to blushes. I had no problems deciding what brand to turn to when it came to blushes; I went straight to NARS. After all, they claim to be “the ultimate authority in blush”.

No, I was not after NARS Orgasm. Honestly? I think it’s a tad overhyped… or I’m just being sour ‘cuz it doesn’t really show up on me.

With the blushes that I do have, I realized two things: (1) Shimmer aggravates the spots on my cheeks and (2) Mattes last longer. TheBalm’s Hot Mama works fine, but it’s got the shimmer that I was trying to avoid. And I was looking for a particular shade, a peach/pink that I can use everyday.

Needless to say, my first blush from NARS did not disappoint. In fact, it even sparked an obsession with NARS blushes; look, I already have three!

Amour, Dolce Vita and Luster

For now, I’ll only talk about the first blush. My first NARS blush: NARS Amour.

NARS Amour

NARS describes Amour as a “peachy pink” shade and it’s been dubbed to be the matte counterpart of Orgasm sans the golden shimmer.

LIKES:

  • Matte
  • Incredibly pigmented as most NARS blushes are.
  • It’s buildable
  • Lasting power (on me) is around five to six hours, maybe even longer; I just have this nasty habit of touching my face all the time. Pfft.
  • The color! It’s a super pretty shade that’s suitable for everyday use. Definitely HG material
  • I like the mirror; it’s really useful.

DISLIKES:

  • Personally, I don’t mind it so much that it’s on the pricey side (Php 1450) but I can’t say that people share the same sentiment. When my mom saw the box, you can very well imagine that she told me I’m insane. Cost per wear, people!

NEUTRAL:

  • I have a love-hate relationship with the packaging. When it’s brand new, it looks classy and it feels uber nice, sturdy and expensive! But as usual, the packaging is a dirt magnet because of the matte/rubbery finish and is the reason why I can’t bring myself to get rid of the box.

I apply this in layers. I dip the brush very lightly on the surface of the blush, tap off the excess and apply it on my cheeks. As I said, the color is buildable so you can control how much product or how intense you want the color to show up on your skin. I usually apply two very thin layers to get it to look like this:

Sorry, BlackBerry picture.

For reference, my shade match is NC37-40 (and NC42 during the summer). See? No shimmer there… just a healthy dose of color on the cheeks. And here’s a little tidbit: a winning combination for me is a dusting of NARS Amour on the cheeks and MAC Party Parrot on the lips (see picture above). Absolutely foolproof for me. In fact, my friends/colleagues can tell exactly who I’ll be going out with when I’m sporting this look. Gads, now I wish I hoarded tubes of Party Parrot.

So, there you go: NARS Amour. Is it something you’ll buy?

2 Responses to “Review: NARS Blush in Amour”

  1. April May 3, 2012 at 9:35 pm #

    The color looks so nice & subtle on you… pretty! 🙂

    • Sara May 18, 2012 at 12:00 am #

      Thank you! I love bright lipsticks so I keep the blushes as subtle as possible. Thanks for dropping by!

Leave a Reply

