Review: Maybelline HyperSharp Liner

12 May

I realized something: I haven’t bought anything drugstore lately. No, I’m not a snob as I actually like a fair number of drugstore stuff… like Maybelline. They have some of the best drugstore mascaras and I love their gel liner. Also, I’ve been hearing a lot of good things about their cream eyeshadows but sadly, it’s not available locally.

Idly, I spent a few minutes looking at their new stuff and one of ’em caught my eye: Maybelline HyperSharp Liner.

You know what? Impulse buys are the best.

that brush tip means business.

How did it perform?

LIKES

  • Affordable at P399 — and I got this on sale!
  • Accessible; you can find this in a Maybelline Counter at Watsons
  • Good control; the brush is soft, but it doesn’t go all over the place
  • Pigmented
  • This’ll give you precise lines
  • Lasting power is decent but I experienced a bit of fading on the outer corner. But a quick retouch should be able to remedy this.
  • Dries quickly
  • Fairly smudgeproof
  • Waterproof (within reason, of course, but I wouldn’t recommend smudging it underwater)
  • Speaking of, it removes fairly easily

DISLIKES

  • I dont like the feel of the packaging; it needs a bit of heft as it feels like a cheap plastic tube
  • The cap doesn’t fit the bottom of the pen
  • The brush is soft and I have no idea how long the shape will stay that way

NEUTRAL

  • Take care of the brush/tip by uncapping it carefully

Say it: HyperSharp

Verdict: I actually really like this. Perfect winged lines, anyone? I normally don’t write reviews this fast (I bought this last Thursday), but this thing is so easy to tote around in a makeup kit… it’s effective and it’s convenient!

Lately I’ve been skipping the eyeliner ‘cuz I couldn’t be bothered with something that requires a separate brush. I find the HyperSharp Liner to be a lazy person’s alternative to a gel liner.

Will I buy it again? Definitely. And yes, it’s going inside my everyday kit should I ever need to apply eyeliner.

Leave a Reply

