Review: Shu Uemura Whitefficient Clear Brightening Gentle Cleansing Oil

24 May

Sorry for the lack of activity, folks. But… that’s not really a novel concept on this blog, huh? The main reason is that I recently transferred to another company and I’m back in the Advertising business! I also moved from Ortigas to Makati.

Travel to and from work is exhausting.

Anyway, while my workload isn’t too crazy yet, I’ve decided to churn out a review on one product that I’ve been eyeing a long time and when I finally succumbed, it was an instant HG material.

Enter Shu Uemura’s Whitefficient Clear Brightening Gentle Cleansing Oil.

Originally, I just wanted to try it out so I got the 150ml bottle but my mom – on her way back from the UK – dropped by Changi Airport and got me the full 450ml bottle! Bonus points when she got me the limited edition Mamechiyo bottle. Isn’t it so purty?

Shu Uemura Cleansing Oil

Compare the size of the two bottles. I got the 150ml a little less than a month ago and I’ve been using it since.

So why did I buy this? I bought the brightening variant because (much thanks to the daily stress I endure), I have dull skin and I needed something that will cut my nightly cleansing regime.

More about the product:

For dull skin complexion, removing melanin-filled dead cells is the first step in brightening care. fortified with the ultimate removal system, our latest development, the lightly textured formula effectively removes accumulated melanin and heavy make-up.

Empowered with our advanced brightening technology this brightening cleansing oil contains an innovative combination of mito-white complex and vitamin c to help prevent the accumulation of melanin deep within. day-after-day, the skin looks clarified and brightened with an even-toned complexion.

How to use (from the website):

  1. use 3-4 pumps of cleansing oil on dry hands
  2. spread gently and thoroughly over dry face
  3. add a few drops of lukewarm water to face to emulsify (oil will turn into milk)
  4. rinse thoroughly with lukewarm water

See? It’s easy!

LIKES:

  • They weren’t kidding when they said this thing is effective… because it is.
  • It’s convenient! Seriously, for somebody who is dead tired by the end of the day, I find it really handy that this is a makeup remover + cleanser in one. Perfect for those I-just-want-to-collapse days. (Come on, even if I’m exhausted or just plain drunk, no way I’m not going to observe proper hygiene, let alone remove my makeup before going to sleep).
  • Gentle but easily dissolves makeup
  • Considerably lightweight
  • Leaves the skin soft after rinsing. I normally use just this but when I’m wearing a face full of makeup, I use it as a pre-cleanse and pair it with a deep cleansing facial foam.
  • My face looks cleaner, clearer but not quite an in-your-face bright. Honestly though, I think that’s the effect you get with continuous use.
  • The packaging is ace; it comes with a pump and the pump has a locking mechanism
  • No breakouts

DISLIKES:

  • The price tag on this thing is unbelievable. You’d think it was made of and from gold. Locally, the brightening variant is P2295 (I think) for the 150ml bottle and the 450ml costs a whooping P5000++. The other variants are a little cheaper compared to this one. My mom got the 450ml at Changi Airport for SDG 90.

NEUTRAL:

  • Slightly scented but it doesn’t bother me. In fact, I actually think that it smells pretty good. It smells… clean.
  • They recommend that you use three pumps worth but I think that’s overkill. One’s usually enough, two if I have waaay too much gunk on. So yes, you can justify the amount that you have to spend on a bottle if you calculate its cost-per-wear.

With the rate I’m going, I think I should be able to get a fair few months worth of use from the 150ml bottle before I open up the bigger one.

Have you tried this? Do you want to? Would you? You should! I’d definitely buy it again.

One Response to “Review: Shu Uemura Whitefficient Clear Brightening Gentle Cleansing Oil”

  1. Cici August 29, 2012 at 3:25 am #

    That price for this is too good to be true, I wonder if I can get one too at the Beijing international airport. T.T That would be amazing.
    Anyways great review!

Leave a Reply

