Review: Benefit Creaseless Cream Eyeshadow Samba-dy Loves Me

25 May

I don’t own a lot of Benefit products so I’ve decided to try something new from the brand, since they already have stores here. Well, I’m not entirely sure if these Creaseless Cream Eyeshadow/Liner are new, per se, but I don’t have any cream eyeshadows and I’ve never tried them before so yes, these are new to me.

If you could recall, I bought these during my “hissy fit” splurge along with a NARS blush. I bought two pots, in fact, but I’ll review just one for now: Benefit’s Creaseless Cream Shadow/Liner in Samba-dy Loves Me.

Packaging

Benefit describes the shade Samba-dy Loves Me as “golden fawn”.

In truth, it’s more of a rose gold / champagne shade. The pots are made of glass and you can see the color at the bottom of the jar. Being a cream product, make sure that the lid is on tight. Sometimes I tend to exaggerate and I leave the cap on too tight. Luckily for me, I’ve never dropped the jar.

Here’s a peek at what the product looks like:

Opened product

It’s the warmer shade (out of the two that I bought). The shade is a pink / peach / copper / champagne with generous amounts of shimmer.

LIKES

  • Pigmented
  • Buildable; it can go on sheer or opaque, depending on how many layers you apply
  • Creamy
  • Creaseless!
  • Lasts all day, especially when paired with an eyeshadow primer
  • You can use it as a single shade of color or as an eyeshadow base to enhance the color of your eyeshadows

DISLIKES

  • Compared to MAC Paint Pots, they don’t have that big of a shade selection. Most of what they have are neutrals, but really, that’s perfectly okay with me.

NEUTRAL

  • Each pot costs P1000. Could be a problem for some, could be not. I just thought they’d be a bit more expensive.
  • I don’t know why, but this particular shade is a little creamier than the others.
  • For comparison’s sake, a jar contains 4.50g worth of product while a MAC Paint Pot has 5g.

I’ve never tried this as a liner so I can’t comment on how that’ll look like. Sometimes I don’t use this on the lid but on the inner corners of my eyes and blend it out to make me look more awake. Heck I might even try it on as a subtle highlighter.

Samba-dy Loves Me

Benefit isn’t the first to come up with cream eyeshadows but for a first try, I find these really promising. I’ve been wanting to try the Maybelline Color Tattoos but sadly, they’re not available locally. But anyway, there are a few more shades that I’d like to try out. Maybe one from the darker side of the spectrum.

One last thing: I store these upside down. You’ll be able to see the shade better and I heard somewhere that it’ll help keep the product from drying out faster.

Drop by a Benefit counter or store to check ’em out!

Leave a Reply

