Review: Tarte Provocateur Pressed Mineral Powder

23 Jun

Guess whuuuut? I just so happen to be one of the lucky two to be House of Flair’s Guest Bloggers for June! They have an awesome guest blogger program in which you try your luck at being picked, but more of that later. I’m here to talk about a product that was given to me by Suyen of HoF: Tarte Provocateur Pressed Mineral Powder.

This is particularly interesting because it’s my first Tarte item.

Now, just because I got an item for free doesn’t mean I’ll be giving it a stellar review. Seriously. That’s just a tad unbecoming, you know? Not gonna go into it any further.

But I digress…

I actually had a bit of a hard time with this. To be fair, I think it’s a promising product but…

… eh, you’ll find out why. Keep reading.Product Description: Tarte Provocateur Pressed Mineral Powder is a whisperlight mineral pressed powder that allows skin to breathe while treating it with soothing vitamins and minerals and protecting it with SPF 8.

By the way, I got a deluxe sample version of the product.

LIKES:

  • It’s pressed mineral powder so it’s not messy
  • The powder is very smooth and finely milled
  • It yields a pretty good coverage, if I may say so. You can dust a thin coverage of the powder all over or use a good kabuki or buffing brush for heavier coverage
  • I like the packaging; it’s a stiff cardboard with magnetic closure. I think the full sized version has a separate compartment for the sponge and has something like a quilted cover
  • SPF 8 is still SPF, right?
  • No breakouts from this

NEUTRAL:

  • It’s powder so it gives off a matte finish; I think that even if you layer it on, it doesn’t look flat and cakey but it might be a bit uncomfortable even if it is mineral makeup. I don’t think anybody would (or should) pile on that much powder anyway

DISLIKES:

  • Tarte isn’t available locally, unless you look for pre-order stores like House of Flair
  • It’s pricey, I’ll give it that; in the US, it retails for $30.00 (MAC Studio Fix Powder + Foundation is around $27)
  • I got this in Walnut 14! According to Temptalia’s Foundation Matrix, it should be a good match for somebody like me – I’m currently NC42 – but…

Walnut 14 vs. NC42

If you compare it with MAC NC42, it’s a lot darker. So yes, it was too dark for me. You have no idea how much I lamented over that; I quite like this product if the shade wasn’t such a miss. So, children, if you want a perfect shade match, either you go to a counter or you do your research.

I didn’t want to waste a perfectly good product so I came up with an alternative: since it was too dark for me, I didn’t use it as a face powder; I passed it off as a pseudo bronzer.

Although I’m naturally tanned, I sweep a very thin layer of this and even it out for slightly more golden sheen.

It also worked as a contouring powder! Just make sure you blend it right. Contouring does take practice. Go ask Lisa Eldridge how it’s done.

swatches

See how it compares with NC42? Walnut 14 is too dark, but hey – use your imagination, kids! Make it work for you.

Although I was disappointed that I didn’t get to use this as a face powder (as originally intended), I’m pretty happy to use this as a contouring powder and I love it for that purpose. But as a face powder, I would recommend this to people. It’s a good quality pressed mineral powder.. just make sure you get your shade match.

Imma rate this.. 4/5 stars. It’s a good product, it wouldn’t be fair if I flunk it just because it wasn’t a shade match.

Anyway, Tarte isn’t available locally so best head on over to House of Flair. They don’t just cater to makeup, by the way. If you have books, bags, clothes, accessories, etc (‘cept for food and electronics), that you want to purchase in the US, Suyen’s the one to talk to. And I think that House of Flair (locally) ships for free at no minimum order amount. That, folks, is already a good deal. Head on over HERE to find out more about their pre-order system.

If you want to know more about House of Flair, you can find them on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and Multiply.

And HERE, you can find out more about the Guest Blogger Program.

So, that’s that and I wanna thank the uber nice Suyen for the opportunity and hope all you dear readers learned a thing or two from this review.

Leave a Reply

