Review: Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain

30 Jul

I spend a lot of time in front of the computer. Work and leisure. But somehow, I just don’t manage to spend enough time on this blog, eh? It’s been almost a month since my last post! Truth is, I’m on a spending ban because I need shopping money for KL (I’m leaving in two weeks!)

And although I have a lot of pending reviews to do, it just doesn’t have the same pull as reviewing a shiny new toy.

Anyway, back to what I was saying before I started justifying my lack of updates…

When you’re online for most part of the day and most days of the week, you kinda come across things that make you go “omg i need that in my life”. Like this one…

My eyes zoomed in on the color she was wearing on her lips. It was one of ’em Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain. They’re fairly new when she released this video. She also did a review on the product, which just intensified my lemming.

I was so disappointed when we didn’t have these at our local Revlon counters until I found out that come August, we’d finally have it here. I distracted myself for almost a month and since I couldn’t wait until August, I dropped by Revlon again yesterday.

Lo and behold: it’s here! I refused to leave the Revlon counter until I’ve decided which ones to take home with me (and my mom bought them for me so we can proceed with grocery shopping).

Revlon Balm Stains

I don’t have any of the Revlon Lip Butters, which most bloggers raved about. Frankly, I don’t like the lip butters; I thought they’re too sticky for me and I figured that I’ll just end up eating it off my lips. But the balm stains are nothing compared to the lip butters. Simply put, I was not disappointed.

Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stains: It’s a pampering balm fused with a lightweight lipstain in an adorable chubby crayon. Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain gives softer, smoother lips with a perfect flush of color that lasts hour after hour. The gel formula comes in 12 vibrant shades that match any look or mood.

It’s not a groundbreaking concept, really and there are other counterparts in the market, namely the Clinique Chubby Sticks and the Tarte LipSurgence. I won’t and can’t compare ’em since I don’t own any. I have swatched the Clinique Chubby Sticks though. What makes this product different, however, is that the other two are more balm than stains while this is a fair mix of both: it’s a balm with the pigmentation and staying power of a stain.

uncapped

LIKES:

  • We have all twelve (12) shades available locally
  • Convenient packaging – twist the metal bottom to “sharpen” the product
  • I think the fat crayon look is cute
  • It applies and glides like a lip balm
  • Affordable at Php 575. I thought it’d cost more
  • Slightly minty scent
  • The balm lasts for, say, an average of 4 hours
  • It gives a healthy sheen to one’s lips, making it look moisturized. This morning I still applied my EOS, let it sit for a few minutes, blotted it off and replaced it with the Revlon Balm Stain; I find that it glides so much easier than it already does
  • When the balm has dried out, the stain stays put like nobody’s business
  • Unbelievably pigmented. The lighter shades can go more sheer but it’s definitely buildable, while you only need one or two swipes of the darker shades to get the full color. The Chubby Sticks are a lot more sheer.

Sweetheart (L) and Smitten (R)

DISLIKES:

  • Absolutely nothing
  • Fine, some people might think the stain is a little difficult to remove, especially those on the darker side of the spectrum

NEUTRAL:

  • I think the price tag of Php 575 is pretty good, considering its staying power (there’s no need to reapply the product)
  • The amount of product is a little deceiving. Compared to Clinique and Tarte, Revlon falls just a 0.05g short (very minimal) but it makes up for it in the price department

I’ve tried and tested the staying power of this product and let me just say that it survived breakfast, coffee, water, lunch, snacks and even dinner. It lasts all freaking day.

Sweetheart: worn after lunch, picture was taken after dinner

I definitely recommend this product. I love it. In fact, I’m buying another one later! It’s HG material for me and it’ll stay in my kit until it’s discontinued. Heck, I think I’ll buy backups when it’s been discontinued. I love how convenient this is, especially for those who are off to work or on errands; basically the folks who are on the go and are way too busy to worry if their lipstick is running or what not.

This is definitely going to KL with me.

So I suggest that you go to a Revlon counter (SM Beauty Section or Watsons) and check it out. I don’t know if this will replace the hype that was the Revlon Lip Butters but personally, I like the Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stains much, much more.

2 Responses to “Review: Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain”

  1. saicee July 30, 2012 at 4:32 pm #

    Gotta try that too! I am also waiting for one PhotoReady Revlon product to be available in the PH too. I just went to their counter last week and still no sign 😛

    • Sara July 31, 2012 at 11:04 am #

      They’re reallyy good. I was wearing the dark one yesterday and kita mo naman, it was not budging 😀

Leave a Reply

