Review: MAC Impassioned

4 Sep

Ever since I got MAC Party Parrot, I’ve discovered my fascination with red-pinks. PP is definitely one of my favorites; I receive compliments every time I use it. Sadly, it’s a limited edition color and I don’t have a backup tube so I don’t use it as often as I’d like, for the fear of finishing the product without a backup tube.

I really hope that MAC repromotes the shade. Imma buy 5 of those if/when they do.

For now, I try to acquire close dupes and one of them is MAC Impassioned. I bought this at MAC Pavillion Mall in KL for RM68 (Php 884).

MAC Impassioned

Uncanny resemblance to this, huh? Let’s see how it compares.

According to the MAC website, Impassioned is an amped-up fuchsia with an amplified creme finish as opposed to MAC Party Parrot which is a matte (the new matte formula).

LIKES:

  • Opaque color
  • Applies and glides well
  • Fairly long lasting, but you might have to reapply after a big meal; I still use a lip brush with this and work it in layers so it’ll leave something like a stain even after eating
  • Non-drying, but never forget to exfoliate; colored flakes of skin sitting on your lips are just ick
  • Permanent color

DISLIKES:

  • It’s not available in the local MAC counters. You can get it via resellers or preorders though.

NEUTRAL:

  • When it comes to lippies, I’m usually a fan of mattes, and amplified cremes are about as creamy as I’d go. I tend to “eat” creamy lipsticks, see? I dunno… I don’t like the feel of lipsticks that are too creamy

Color-wise, PP is a touch redder (in the tube) and is brighter when worn. I haven’t swatched MAC Moxie (from the MAC By Request collection) yet and I don’t own Fusion Pink (I should buy this too, harhar) so I can’t compare it to Impassioned.

Moxie, Impassioned, Party Parrot

Nope. Not obsessed with red-pinks. I haven’t taken a picture of myself wearing this, but I’ll definitely update this post when I do. Overall? I like it. I really like it. I’ve been after this color for a looong time. Super glad that I spotted this tube in Pavillion since it wasn’t in KLCC.

Leave a Reply

