Current Favorites: Foundations

12 Sep

I’ve been enjoying good skin days lately; supple, zero breakouts and fading blemishes. I might write about my skin care routine now that I finally managed to nail products that work together in making my skin cooperate. But today’s post isn’t about that.

Although I don’t have any serious issues with my skin (so far), I still appreciate a good base. So much so that each of the foundations that I own has a specific purpose. My brother once asked me, upon seeing all the bottles I have: “What psycho needs 8 bottles of foundation??”

Here are my current favorites and what I use them for:

Current Favorites: Foundations

Everyday: Bobbi Brown Skin Foundation – One layer would give you a natural-looking base while getting rid of the minor blemishes or discolorations. It’s very light and not at all uncomfortable if you wear it for hours. It serves it purpose well as an everyday foundation.

Wearing NARS Sheer Glow

Special Occasions: NARS Sheer Glow – This foundation is still The Favorite. Its lasting power, coverage, soft matte finish is just perfect. I scrimp on this though and is strictly for special occasions only. You can read my full review here.

Wearing Lancome Teint Miracle

Making an impression: Lancome Teint Miracle – A colleague asked me earlier, “may meeting ka today?” (do you have a meeting today?) and I’m guessing that has something to do with the foundation. It gives great coverage and the subtle luminosity makes you look fresh and really well rested. I still have to review this product. Oh and if you’re curious, my reply was: “wala naman, gusto ko lang magmukhang tao.” (none, i just want to look made up/presentable)

Wearing Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua

No Makeup: Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua – If you follow me on twitter, you’d know that I’ve been raving about this foundation ever since I got it. I use this once a week. Every Sunday, to be exact, when I go out to lunch with the family. I turn to this when I want to look effortlessly presentable. It looks even more natural than Bobbi Brown Skin Foundation. I will definitely rave about this in a separate post.

Summer: MAC Studio Fix Fluid or Bourjois Healthy Mix – These are the two darkest shades that I have in my stash and they’re well matched for my summer tone. I turn to MAC if I need something matte and Bourjois for something more natural looking. But if I were to pick one, I’ll go for MAC; I have this suspicion that Bourjois oxidizes on me or is just a tad too dark. Shame, as it would’ve been a winner if not for that little problem.

On the Go: MAC Studio Fix Powder+Foundation – I want to insert a quick mention of the MAC SFP+F. You can always find this in my bag. Always. It’s a permanent resident. I use this for touch ups (if needed) or when I want to apply makeup enroute to work.

This isn’t my 2012 picks, by the way. I’m still expecting two more foundations to join my growing family and I’ve been really looking forward to acquiring these two. Excited!

2 Responses to “Current Favorites: Foundations”

  1. Sai September 12, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

    I actually noticed that you’re getting more and more blooming! Is it just the skin care routine or foundation or love, maybe? Hihi

    Can’t wait to read your current skin care routine! 🙂

    • Sara September 12, 2012 at 4:11 pm #

      Love is nonexistent, so it’s probably the skin care and the foundations I use. Hahaha!

Leave a Reply

