Capsule Review and a Peek Inside My Longchamp

6 Oct

I recently got myself a Longchamp Le Pliage. You know, the infamous nylon tote bag? It’s a little late, but I really wasn’t considering the fad; I wanted a bag that was:

  • sturdy
  • roomy
  • lightweight
  • simple
  • waterproof
  • non-fussy
  • easy to clean

The Le Pliage seemed to fit this so I finally caved in and bought one. Since I plan on this being my everyday/work bag, I bought myself the medium tote with long handles. I don’t carry a lot, per se, so I don’t see the point of buying the large one (though this claim might come back and bite me in the ass; I’m really tempted on getting a big one now).

It’s also a plus that there are so many knock-offs out there that I’m sure thieves are pretty sick of seeing this bag.

Longchamp Le Pliage (Medium Long Handles)

Nonetheless, I did my research first on how to spot a fake from the real thing; the size, texture, details and even price range. I also went to Rustan’s to study the bags. And just to be sure, I asked for specific photos from sellers before I settled on getting mine from Deals and Steals Manila. I’m pretty happy with my purchase.

So yeah, despite a friend saying that the Le Pliage is so common, it doesn’t matter; I’m pretty happy with this bag and I might get another one in a darker color (currently, I have “paper/papier” which is a cream-colored Le Pliage). And it’s so French: simple, chic, timeless.

So let’s take a look at what I keep inside:

first look

As you can see, there’s still plenty of room but I’m not really a fan of bags that are filled to the brim. I like having space so I can rummage inside it without worrying that my stuff will be spilling out as I dig around.

What’s in my longchamp bag

It’s not this cluttered, I swear. I was going for the “artistically messy” look. Harhar. The usual suspects:

  • A hot pink wallet
  • An umbrella
  • My current everyday scent: Zen Zest Mulberry
  • My makeup kit (MAC Studio Fix Powder+Foundation, NARS Amour, Revlon Balm Stain in Smitten, Shu Uemura Eyebrow Pencil, a travel toothbrush and toothpaste and a small bottle of alcohol)
  • EOS Lipbalm
  • Sun glasses
  • A book that I’m currently reading (Saffron and Brimstone by Elizabeth Hand)
  • A pen
  • A small notebook/planner
  • A packet of japanese green tea
  • A small pouch that houses my BlackBerry’s data cable, earphones and 2 USBs

Very basic. See? It can fit so much! Definitely getting another soon.

One Response to “Capsule Review and a Peek Inside My Longchamp”

  1. Sai October 23, 2012 at 12:03 pm #

    Weee! Longchamp! And I must say, you are pretty organized! Love how you organized your bag 😛

Leave a Reply

